2018 Pierre de Coubertin Awards


Pierre de Coubertin Award

Nominations for 2018 Awards closed on 31 October 2018 - please contact the AOC if you have any issues on 02 9247 2000 or email pdc@olympics.com.au

The Pierre de Coubertin Award recognises secondary school students who demonstrate values which are consistent with the Olympic Movement through participation in sporting activities. 

More than 16,500 young Australians have received the Award since its inception in 1993 including 2016 Rio Olympic Gold Medallists Kim Brennan (Rowing) and Evania Pelite (Rugby 7’s), Bronze Medallists Cameron McEvoy (Swimming), Jessica Fox (Canoe/Kayak – Slalom) and Olympians Alana Boyd (Athletics), Bronte Barratt (Swimming), Scott Bowden (Cycling), Alicia Coutts (Swimming), Amy Cure (Cycling), Cedric Dubler (Athletics), Brittany Elmslie (Swimming), Bianca Hammett (Synchronised Swimming), Sally Kehoe (Rowing) and Cristina Sheehan (Synchronised Swimming).

Each year, secondary school teachers are invited to nominate one recipient for the Pierre de Coubertin Award from year 10, 11 or 12. Each nominee must participate actively in the school's physical education program with a consistently positive attitude and must have represented the school in a sport

Award recipients are also invited to attend an Academy Day (held in each respective State) which provides the opportunity for students to meet Olympians, workshop Olympic issues and learn about of the International Olympic Movement and includes official Awards Ceremony will take place  the Australian Olympic Committee. 

Click the following link to download the selection criteria PDC Selection Criteria.