Pierre de Coubertin Awards

2014 Pierre de Coubertin Award Recipients


The Pierre de Coubertin Award recognises secondary school students who demonstrate values which are consistent with the Olympic Movement through participation in sporting activities.

Nominations are now closed for 2014, but will reopen early 2015.

More than 13,000 young Australians have received the Award since its inception in 1993. Of interest is the number of recipients who have gone on to represent Australia at the Olympic, Youth Olympic and Paralympic Games. 

These include 2012 Olympic Silver Medallists Kim Crow, Jessica Fox and Nina Curtis and Youth Olympians Luke Noblett, Annalese Smith and Clair Dennerley.

Each year, secondary school teachers are invited to nominate one recipient for the Pierre de Coubertin Award from year 11 or 12 (Year 10 if Central Schools).

  • Nominations are open all year round.
  • In order to attend the awards ceremony or if you aren’t available to attend though would like your student certificates posted this year, the online section requires to be completed two weeks prior to the awards ceremony, otherwise certificates will be posted in 2015.

Teachers can review the criteria for the Awards - Pierre de Coubertin Selection Criteria

Prior to nomination, teachers must 'sign up' with Olympic Education and can do so at the top right hand side of this website. 

The pinnacle of the Awards is the opportunity to represent Australia at the International Pierre de Coubertin Youth Forum, held every two years. 

The Pierre de Coubertin Awards are managed and delivered by the State Olympic Councils.

For more information, please email pdc@olympics.com.au